Event Detail


CSCS User Day


The 2009 CSCS User Day will be held at the Radisson Hotel in Luzern on September 11th. We very much look forward to meeting you there!

User Day Recap


09:30 - 09:40Welcome and Intro, Prof. Thomas Schulthess
09:40 - 10:10Scientific Presentation, Computing galaxy formation; current state and challenges, Prof. Lucio Mayer, University of Zurich
10:10 - 10:40Scientific Presentation, Climate modeling with aerosols; transient simulations with ECHAM5-HAM, Dr. Doris Folini, ETH Zurich
10:40 - 11:10Poster Session and Coffee Break
11:10 - 11:40CSCS Strategy and direction, Prof. Thomas Schulthess
11:40 - 12:30Invited Talk: "New frontiers in quantum chemistry using supercomputers", Dr. Jeff Hammond, Argonne National Laboratory
12:30 - 13:30Lunch
13:30 - 14:00Scientific Presentation, Ab-initio study of reactive processes; from organocatalysis to material science, Dr. Clotilde Cucinotta, ETH Zurich
14:00 - 14:30Scientific Presentation, Wavelet-based adaptive solvers on multi-core architecture for the simulation of complex systems, Diego Rossinelli, ETH Zurich
14:30 - 14:50CSCS roadmap and information, Dominik Ulmer
14:50 - 15:20Poster Session and Coffee Break
15:20 - 15:50Scientific Presentation, Molecular Dynamics Simulation of Biomolecular Systems, Pablo Campomanes, EPF Lausanne
15:50 - 16:20Information on next Call for Proposals, Dr. Maria-Grazia Giuffreda
16:20 - 16:50Special Interest Groups
16:50 - 17:00CSCS Best Poster Award


Registered Participants as at 10/9/09 at 17:40

 Urs        Beyerle       IAC / ETH Zurich
Dirk        Bakowies    ETH Zurich
Adeline   Bichet         ETH Zurich
Urban     Borstnik      University of Zurich
Simone   Callegari      University of Zurich
Pablo      Campomanes EPFL
Valentina Cocco          University of Bern
Lex         Coors         Interxion
Clotilde    Cucinotta   ETHZ
Jeremy    Curuksu     EPFL (Lausanne)
Andrea    Danani       SUPSI/ICIMSI
Edouard   Davin        ETH Zurich
Sandip     De            University of Basel
Yun          Ding         University of Zurich
Andreas   Elsener      Paul Scherrer Institut
Daniel      Emery       University of Geneva
Cyril        Flaig          ETH Zürich
Doris       Folini          ETH Zurich
Christos   Frouzakis   ETHZ
Roberto    Gaspari     EMPA
Manuel     Guidon     University Zurich
Hua         Guo          ETH Zurich
Jeffery      Hammond Argonne National Laboratory
Samuel     Hertig      ETH Zürich
Juerg        Hutter      University of Zurich
Marcella    Iannuzzi   University of Zurich
Daniel       Jung         ETH Zürich
Roger        Kaeppelil   Universität Base
Matthias     Krack       Paul Scherrer Institut
Rustam     Khaliullin    ETH Zurich
Latévi Max  Lawson Daku    Université de Genève
Matthias     Liebendörfer    University of Basel
Daniel        Luethi           IAC ETH Zuerich
Valeri         Markushin     Paul Scherrer Institute
Salvatore R. Manmana    Institute of Theoretical Physics, EPF Lausanne
Lucio          Mayer           University of Zurich
Dominik       Obrist         Institute of Fluid Dynamics
Daniele        Passerone   Empa
Albino         Perego         University of Basel
Fabio          Pietrucci        CECAM - EPFL Lausanne
Carlo Antonio  Pignedoli   EMPA
Meher         Prakash        ETH Zurich
Ivan           Rivalta          ETH Zurich
Diego         Rossinelli      ETH Zurich
Gianluca     Santarossa    ETH Zurich
Simon        Scheidegger   University of Basel
Olaf           Schenk          Department of Computer Science
Florian       Schiffmann    University of Zurich
Drangu      Sehu             BAFU
Luca          Simonelli       IRB Bellinzona
Joost        VandeVondele  University of Zurich
Luca         Varani             IRB Bellinzona
Angelo      Vargas            ETH Zurich
Kilian        Vollenweider    IIS
Stuart       Whitehouse     University of Basel
Garif        Yalak                ETH Zürich

Back to listing